Use this music sales page to have a closer look at the catalogue of music from Morthanveld Publishing Ltd – whether you want something for Christmas, a short concert item, an unusual solo, a major work to build a concert or CD around, or use for a contest, or something really off the wall, there’s almost certainly going to be something to interest you!

  • The World Rejoicing (Symphonic Variations on a Lutheran Chorale) was jointly commissioned by the British Open Brass Band Championship, and the National Brass Band Associations/Federations of the Netherlands (NBK), Belgium (VLAMO), Switzerland (SBBV) and Norway (NMF), to be used as the top section test-piece for their National/Open brass band competitions in 2021-23. It is a set of variations on the chorale Nun danket alle Gott written around 1636 by Martin Rinkart and set to music around 1648 by Johann Cruger.
  • Endurance

    Commissioned by Kapitol Promotions as the 3rd section test-piece for the 2020 Regional Championships of Great Britain, Endurance is a set of 'narrative variations' for brass band inspired by the story of Ernest Shackleton's epic journey across the Southern Ocean in 1914-16.
  • At last…’s published! On the 50th anniversary of its premiere at the Royal Festival Hall, London, Edward Gregson's Concertante for Piano and Brass Band,  the work that launched the composer’s career in the brass band world is now finally published. Having been withdrawn from public performance in the 1980s the work has remained unavailable until now. It’s a wonderful opportunity to explore a new genre. From its dramatic opening Prelude, to its tender and lyrical Nocturne, and the final rhythmic and joyful Rondo, this eighteen minute work is an exhilarating showcase for both pianist and brass band.
    This 50th anniversary release is a very welcome publication that should prove highly attractive to both performers and audiences. A master musician has revisited his youth and resurrected a gem for all to savour and enjoy! - Ronald W. Holz, The Brass Herald, August 2018
  • Ave Maria

    Ave Maria by Bach/Gounod is a popular setting of the well-used Latin text and was originally published in 1853 as Méditation sur le Premier Prélude de Piano de S. Bach. The piece consists of a melody by the French Romantic composer Charles Gounod that he superimposed over a very slightly changed version of the Prelude No. 1 in C major from J.S. Bach’s The Well-Tempered Clavier, written 137 years earlier. Gounod improvised the melody, and his future father-in-law Pierre-Joseph-Guillaume Zimmermann transcribed the improvisation and in 1853 made an arrangement for violin (or cello) with piano and harmonium. In 1859 the setting was published with the familiar Latin text. This arrangement features the tenor horn and was commissioned for Sheona White and the Brighouse and Rastrick Band to perform at the 2017 Brass in Concert Championships by their conductor Dr David Thornton, at which Sheona won the prize for best tenor horn. It was subsequently adapted into versions for B flat solo instruments (euphonium, tenor trombone or baritone) and with percussion accompaniment only.
  • Dragon Dances

    Dragon Dances is a virtuosic showpiece solo for tenor horn, commissioned by Owen Farr and featured on his 2014 solo CD 'A New Dawn'
    Dragon Dances is one of the most exciting and energetic pieces to be written for the tenor horn - Owen Farr
    PDF download options are available for this work.  
  • An exciting and dynamic work ideal for opening a concert or creating an impact!
    ...thrill a minute style! - Iwan Fox,
    A PDF download version of this work is available.
  • …and the winter moon rises

    ...and the winter moon rises is a slow, descriptive musical postcard of a winter journey as recorded by the Virtuosi GUS Band on their CD '80 Years in the Making'
    Andrew Baker's portrayal of winter over the Yorkshire moors is evocatively brought to life - Malcolm Wood,
    A PDF download version of this work is available.
  • Kopanitsa

    Kopanitsa is an exciting virtuoso solo for percussion (vibraphone, tuned drums, cymbals and xylophone) with brass band and/or piano accompaniment, commissioned by Gavin Pritchard and featured on the Cory Band's 'Enter the Galaxies' CD
  • The Once and Future King

    A three movement suite for brass band, suitable for bands of third section standard and upwards. The Once and Future King has been selected as the set test-piece for the 3rd sections of the Swiss National Brass Band Championships in 2007, the Regional Championships of Great Britain in 2009 and the NIBA Championship of Ireland in 2012.
    The Once and Future King is a superbly written, atmospheric piece with a thrilling climax - Rodney Newton, British Bandsman
  • Fanfare for a New Era was originally written for Symphonic Brass and Percussion, and was commissioned to celebrate the Royal Opening of The Stoller Hall at Chethams School of Music in April 2017. That original version has been commercially recorded on the Chandos label (CHAN 20127) by London Brass, conducted by Rumon Gamba. This new version for Brass Band and Percussion was commissioned by Youth Brass 2000.
  • This set includes three fanfares by Edward Gregson for symphonic brass and percussion ensemble,
    • Fanfare for a New Era
    • Fanfare for the North
    • Fanfare for Europe.
    Instrumentation: See details below for exact instrumentation for each fanfare This work is also available as a PDF download.
  • LeFay’s Mirage

    LeFay’s Mirage for E flat Tenor Horn and Piano was commissioned by Nicky Abkiewicz who is also the work’s dedicatee, to add to the competition and concert repertoire for solo tenor horn.


Go to Top