Edward Gregson: Three Fanfares, for Symphonic Brass and Percussion


This set includes three fanfares by Edward Gregson for symphonic brass and percussion ensemble,

  • Fanfare for a New Era
  • Fanfare for the North
  • Fanfare for Europe.


See details below for exact instrumentation for each fanfare

This work is also available as a PDF download.


Fanfare for a New Era

This fanfare was commissioned by Lady Sheila Stoller to celebrate the opening of the Stoller Hall at Chetham’s School of Music in Manchester (UK). It is dedicated to Sir Norman Stoller, who generously donated the funding for the new concert hall. It was first performed by students of Chetham’s School of Music, conducted by Stephen Threlfall, at the Royal Opening of the Stoller Hall on 24 April 2017.

Composer’s Note:

Ideally, the fanfare should be performed using as much spatial arrangement as possible, so that the antiphonal effects are heard to their best advantage. Whatever the chosen lay-out, the 1st Trumpet should be positioned off-stage in a suitable position. This could be a rear balcony if the venue is not too large, or in a side balcony in a larger concert hall.

Duration: 3’00’’


  • Brass: 4 Trumpets in B flat (Trumpet 1 doubling Trumpet in E flat), 4 Horns in F, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Tuba,
  • Timpani
  • Percussion 1: Snare Drum, Large Suspended Cymbal
  • Percussion 2: 4 Tom-toms, Tam-tam, Clashed Cymbals
  • Percussion 3: Tubular Bells

Fanfare for the North

This fanfare was commissioned by the Gateshead Garden Festival of 1990 and was first performed by London Brass Virtuosi, directed by David Honeyball, at the Royal Opening by HM The Queen. Its four-note motif (G, A, E, D), which is heard throughout the fanfare, is derived from the letters of ‘Gateshead’.

Duration: 1’15’’


  • Brass: 4 Trumpets in C, 4 Horns in F, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Percussion 1: Tam-tam, Glockenspiel
  • Percussion 2: Tubular Bells
  • Percussion 3: Suspended Cymbal, Clashed Cymbals

Fanfare for Europe

This fanfare was specially commissioned for two concerts celebrating the UK’s entry into Europe (or the European Economic Community as it was then known) in 1973. The first performances were given at York Minister and the Royal Albert Hall, London, in January 1973.

The fanfare was also featured as the opening music for the first episode of a series of short documentary programmes made for BBC Radio 4 in 2018 by Mark Mardell entitled Brexit: A Love Story?

Duration: 1’15’’


  • Brass: 4 Trumpets in B flat, 4 Horns in F, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Percussion 1: Suspended Cymbal, Clashed Cymbals
  • Percussion 2: Snare Drum

These works have been commercially recorded on a critically acclaimed CD from London Brass on the Chandos label, available HERE.

For more information on Edward Gregson’s music please visit the composer’s website: www.edwardgregson.com

Additional information

Weight 0.750 kg
Dimensions 32 × 25 × 2.5 cm

Printed & Bound, PDF Download


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.


Go to Top