Gregson: Music of the Angels CD (London Brass/Rumon Gamba)


23 in stock

This outstanding CD contains all of Edward Gregson’s significant works for Symphonic Brass, including the seminal Brass Quintet, the Symphony in two movements and Music of the Angels, performed by some of the UK’s leading professional brass musicians.

23 in stock

SKU: CHAN20127 Category:


Edward Gregson began composing from a very early age, and his extensive output covers a wide range of musical sound-worlds. Music for film, television, and theatre sits alongside choral pieces and works for full orchestra. Having played in a brass band as a teenager, he has shown a special affinity in his compositions for brass throughout his career – both for brass band and for symphonic brass, which is celebrated with this new album. His seminal Quintet for Brass, Three Dance Episodes, and Aria for Philip mark his connection to the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. The album includes Fanfare for PL and Fanfare for a New Era, complementing his two largest-scale works for brass: the Symphony in two movements, and Music of the Angels. Virtuosic playing from London Brass under the direction of Rumon Gamba makes this an essential tribute to Gregson in his seventy-fifth year.

Track Listing

1 Fanfare for a New Era* for Symphonic Brass and Percussion 2.48
2-7 Symphony in two movements** for Symphonic Brass and Percussion 18.06
8-10 Three Dance Episodes for Brass Octet 9.21
11 Flourish for an Occasion for Three Trumpets and Three Trombones 0.52
12 Fanfare for PL* for Three Trumpets and Three Trombones 1.34
13-14 Quintet for Brass 10.45
15 Aria for Philip* for Brass Quintet 4.28
16-20 Music of the Angels* for Symphonic Brass and Percussion 16.37


*Premiere recording

**Premiere recording in this version


Additional information

Weight 0.138 kg
Dimensions 23 × 16 × 1 cm

3 reviews for Gregson: Music of the Angels CD (London Brass/Rumon Gamba)

  1. Barry Forshaw

    …This latest outing is a selection of music for particular brass and percussion ensembles, and demonstrates the composer’s approachability and imagination. Because of the particular sound palette, it is probably best to hear these pieces in isolation rather than sequentially, but Gregson admirers need not hesitate.

    – Barry Forshaw,, March 2020

  2. Iwan Fox

    Each has the hallmark of exceptional craftsmanship; an academic rigour that never subsumes the intuitive melodic clarity of thought – the trademark rhythmic abstractions acting like slick gear changes on a winding road journey to a glorious final destination. The playing from a star studded line-up of talent is a mix of technical brilliance and artistic élan – Rumon Gamba and the composer allowing a generous leash of freedom of expression without recourse to frivolous showmanship. The rewards are obvious. The scope of the writing is measured in its brilliance by the performers – a blaze of omnipotent triumph.

    – Iwan Fox,, April 2020

  3. Mark Good

    Edward Gregson is rightly viewed as a luminary, a composer who is highly-regarded within the brass scene but whose reach extends well beyond. His writing stands the test of time, works from decades past continuing to excite and inspire new generations of listening ears. This release on the Chandos label features several premiere recordings of the composer’s work…
    …an album of unrivalled, breath-taking quality which deserves recognition at the very highest level; a musical masterpiece.

    – Mark Good, British Bandsman Magazine, April 2020

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.


Go to Top